[REVIEW] Don’t Say No by SeoHyun

DON’T SAY NO by SEOHYUN

Release Date: January 17, 2016
Rating
: ★★★☆☆

Tracklist:

  1. Don’t Say No
  2. Hello (feat. Eric Nam)
  3. Magic
  4. 혼자 하는 사랑 (Lonely Love)
  5. Love & Affection
  6. Bad Love
  7. 달빛 (Moonlight)

Honestly, I didn’t have any expectations for this mini-album whatsoever. I wasn’t sure what I was expecting to hear from her debut solo mini-album. I do like her look for the promos so I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t interested.

The thing is: this is a very average mini-album. Seohyun wants to dabble in different genres and she doesn’t really want to seem to take risks. One major issue I had was that, especially in her slower songs, she seemed to lack energy. She needs to understand that just because it’s a slow song doesn’t mean it requires a low energy to sing it.

Another issue I had was that this sounded more of an Ariana Grande tribute to her since it’s known Seohyun is a fan of  hers. Granted, it’s fine to be a fan of a singer and want to take influence from them into your own work; but the problem here is that she’s doing it a little too much.

Track by track, my favorites would have to be “Bad Love”, though I really liked the beginning of it more than the overall song itself, “Magic”, “혼자 하는 사랑 (Lonely Love)”, and maybe “Moonlight” more if she wasn’t so bored of it.

“Don’t Say No”, the titular track, sounded unfortunately average and it also sounded like a rejected solo song for Jessica before she left. Nothing in particular stood out to me in the album much other than Seohyun trying really hard to be Ariana Grande.

The song that stands out to me the most, though, is “Magic” simply because that’s the one she actually puts passion in. However, this is in the style of Ariana Grande (though she could enunciate better than Ariana could) which would be fine if I were looking for something like that. Instead, I was looking for a mini-album by Seohyun, not Ariana Grande. If I wanted to listen to Ariana Grande, I’ll go ahead and pop in “One Last Time”.

This mini-album is good for a time waster or if you need some white noise in the background, and that’s a pity. Seohyun’s voice is actually quite nice, though, she shouldn’t strain herself to sing those high notes. It’s okay that you can’t reach those notes! Not everyone can!

Leave a Reply

